Home Founder Specialties Services Guide to Patients Academics Careers Contact Us

Department of Urology

Urology Workshop 2013

The department of Urology was inaugurated by Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, the honourable President of India on 22nd November, 1992. In its initial days, it was working as a General Surgery Department with emphasis on Urology. Later on it became a specialised department in Urology.

Facilities of Nephrology were initially extended to the patients, but later this facility was discontinued.  

Facilities and Services

All major surgeries of the kidney, bladder, ureter, prostate, urethra are performed at the department. Further, endoscopic surgeries like TUR, ‘P’/URSL/, PCNL/ CYTOSCOPY/VIU are routinely performed for prostate, stones and strictures. Moreover, open surgeries for stone, cancer of the kidney, bladder, prostate and stricture of urethra are also undertaken by the department.

A range of major surgeries performed by the Department of Urology include:

  1. Open renal surgeries
  2. Open ureteric surgeries
  3. Open bladder surgeries
  4. Open prostate surgeries
  5. Open genitalia surgeries (Male)
  6. Paediatric urology-valve surgery
  7. Internal urethrotomy
  8. TUR prostate
  9. TUIP
  10. TUR bladder tumour
  11. Uretero-renoscopy-lithotripsy
  12. PCNL
  13. Reconstructive urology
  14. Paediatric urology – Hypospadias
  15. Paediatric urology – Pyeloplasty
  16. Paediatric urology – Mega Ureter
  17. Female urology
  • There are three operation theatres, a urology ward, an Intensive Care Unit (ICU), OPD supplemented with
    urodynamic and Extracorporeal Shock Wave Lithotripter (ESWL) machine. The Urology ward has 72 beds.

  • A “Donier HM III” ESWL is used to treat stones in kidneys and ureters without surgery (non-invasive) by pulverising the stones into tiny fragments by application of shock waves. It is a state-of-the-art machine, capable of accurate localisation of the stone using fluoroscopy as well as ultra sound.

  • This double facility results in higher success rate. The actual treatment takes an hour or two only and the patient is discharged within a day. It is a boon to the poor who are daily wage workers as loss of man-hours is reduced.

Instructions to patients

  • All age group patients with urological problems are treated at the hospital.

  • There are no dialysis or kidney transplant surgery facilities with the department. There is no independent nephrology department in the hospital.

  • Patients are requested to bring along their medical records and X-rays etc. . This will facilitate easier diagnosis of the ailment.

  • Patients suffering from kidney failure are requested to consult the nearest nephrologist. The department does not have the facilities to treat such patients.


Dr.Satish Kumar. P, HoD, Department of Urology.

Visiting faculty

Dr. Venkatesh Krishnamurthy: Consultant Urologist, NU hospitals, Bangalore
Prof. Ganesh Gopal Kishna : H.O.D, Department of Urology, CMC, Vellore.
Prof. Sanjay Bhat : H.O.D, Department of Urology, AIMS, Kochi.
Prof. Shasidharan : H.OD, Department of Urology, KIMS, Thiruvananthapuram.
Prof. Shiva Shankar : H.O.D, Department of Urology, Manipal Hospital, Bangalore.
Prof. Kesava Murthy : Associate Professor, NU Hospital, Bangalore.
Prof. D. Ramesh : Professor of Urology, Ramaiah Medical College, Bangalore.

For any queries or an appointment please mail to enquirypg@sssihms.org.in along with the scanned copies of the latest medical reports.

You can also write to:

Patient Correspondence Cell
Room No. 140
Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Medical Sciences, Prasanthigram,
Anantapur District, Andhra Pradesh- 515134

Or call 08555-287388 ext 508.

Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Medical Sciences, Whitefield Radio Sai
Sri Sathya Sai Central TrustRadio Sai Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Medical Sciences, Whitefield